On the home stretch 

Dear George…

Less than a week until I head in for surgery!  Getting very excited now, but anxious about the hard work that lies ahead. 

I’ve had numerous conversations recently with different people having known someone who’s had the sleeve done with really positive results, but all commonly have had issues with some foods and no longer being able to tolerate them.. and I’m ok with that. 

It’s been a busy few weeks, I’ve been in for my last visit with the surgeon, had a session with the physiologist and my first appointment with the dietician and I’ve been playing phone tag with the pre-admissions clinic at the hospital.  

During my visits the dietician gave me a new plate which sections out what you should be eating in Protien, veggies & salad, it’s slightly bigger than a side plate but smaller than the average dinner plate.  My son has been cute he wants one too, funny little things kids are, his been quiet interested in what’s going on, I’ve been explaining everything the best I can, but his worried that I’m going to die, for some reason he associates hospital with dying at the moment, not sure why, his never visited anyone in hospital that has been extremely ill or terminally ill, people he has visited in hospital have been sick but always gone home. Just his way of expressing himself at the moment I think. 

I started the two week diet of optifast prior to surgery last week, I can say that’s not going so well, I can’t stand the taste of it and it makes me gag!  So I’ve been having up and go’s instead, the dietician also recommend 2-4 cups of certain veggies (non-starch) and because my BMI is over 50 I can have 100g of Protien as well, so one day I had some veggies & a boiled egg, and another uncooked veggies with some tuna.  I havnt been hungry as such just craving food I can’t have, like today when I messaged my sister telling her I wanted a chicken Parma, not because I was hungry I just wanted to taste something…  Well I had a carrot with some hommus instead… Not quiet the same thing but oh well. 

I got my sister to take a ‘before’ picture of me, it’s horrible!! Standing there in my bra and pants, guts hanging out!! But hopefully in a few months I can but it beside another one and see some changes. Positive thoughts right! 

Exciting times ahead! Chat soon bye for now 

2 thoughts on “On the home stretch 

  1. Hi!
    I did Opti for the 5 weeks (personal choice) & am now 10 months out from surgery. I find water very difficult to tolerate as well as spicy foods – My tastes have changed from sweet to savoury which is fantastic.
    I have no regrets. Not a one.
    I have lost about 45kgs in this time and about to hit the “hard” stage where I have about 8kgs I want rid of and now must be very conscious of energy input to continue losing til I get to my goal weight. But for the first time in 20 years this goal is 100% achievable. I am playing with my kids, walking, running and enjoying life.
    I feel like my future is all before me and life has finally begun.
    All the very best for you and your experience- it is ALL worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment